r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij M Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek

EU wants all companies to pay taxes where they should

Met dank overgenomen van Kroatisch voorzitterschap Europese Unie 1e helft 2020 (Kroatisch voorzitterschap), gepubliceerd op dinsdag 18 februari 2020.

The Council today adopted revised conclusions on the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

"The work on the list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions is based on a thorough process of assessment, monitoring and dialogue with about 70 third-country jurisdictions. Since we started this exercise, 49 countries have implemented the necessary tax reforms to comply with the EU's criteria. This is an undeniable success. But it is also work in progress and a dynamic process where our methodology and criteria are constantly reviewed."

Zdravko Marić, Croatian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

Annex II of the conclusions, which covers jurisdictions with pending commitments, reflects the deadline extensions granted to 12 jurisdictions to enable them to pass the necessary reforms to deliver on their commitments. Most of the deadline extensions concern developing countries without a financial centre who have already made meaningful progress in the delivery of their commitments.

Also, the Council adopted texts related to the 2020 European Semester, guidelines for the 2021 EU budget and two reforms of existing VAT rules.

Terug naar boven