r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij P P M G W Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek

G7 summit, Biarritz, France

datum 24 augustus 2019 - 26 augustus 2019
plaats Biarritz, Frankrijk
aanwezigen D.F. (Donald) Tusk, J.C. (Jean-Claude) Juncker e.a.

President Donald Tusk and President Jean-Claude Juncker will represent the EU at the G7 summit.

They will discuss global challenges with the leaders of the G7 countries in areas such the economy, foreign policy, the protection of the environment, with a specific focus on tackling inequalities.

Leaders are likely to discuss pressing foreign and security issues, such as relations with Iran, Russia and North Korea.

In addition to the G7 countries, other countries will be invited to take part in the debates and negotiations, in particular African countries.

The G7 summit will be an opportunity for the EU to defend the rules-based order and its organisations as the best approach for global governance.

Media information

Media accreditation can be requested until 21 June. Information on press arrangements can be found in the media advisory note.

French G7 presidency

France holds the G7 presidency until 31 December 2019 and will host the G7 meeting in Biarritz.

Under its G7 presidency, France will aim to combat the root causes of inequality. The French G7 presidency will focus on five priorities in the fight against inequality:

  • fighting inequality of opportunity
  • fighting inequality related to environmental degradation
  • security and counter-terrorism
  • fighting inequality through digital development and artificial intelligence
  • combating inequality through a renewed partnership with Africa

For more information visit the G7 summit website:

About the G7 summit

The G7 summit is a forum that plays an important role in shaping global responses to global challenges, complementing the global economic coordination carried out by the G20.

It brings together leaders from the EU and the following countries:

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • the United Kingdom
  • the United States

This summit follows the G7 Summit in Charlevoix, Canada.

Leaders have been meeting in the G7 format since 2014 following the Russian Federation's violation of Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity.

The EU as G7 member

In 1977, representatives of the then European Community began participating in the London summit. Originally, the role of the EU was limited to those areas in which it had exclusive competences, but this role has expanded over time.

The EU has gradually been included in all political discussions on the summit agenda and , from the Ottawa summit (1981) onwards, has taken part in all summit working sessions.

The EU has all the responsibilities of membership. The summit communiqué is politically binding on all G7 members.

The rotation of the presidency is as follows: Japan in 2016, Italy in 2017, Canada in 2018, France in 2019, and the USA in 2020.


Meer over...

Terug naar boven