r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij P P M G W Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek

2019 STOA/ESMH – ERC conference ‘Investing in Researchers, shaping Europe’s future’, Brussel

Altiero Spinelli-gebouw (ASP) in Brussel
© Kevin Bergenhenegouwen
datum 7 februari 2019 09:00
plaats Brussel, België
locatie Altiero Spinelli (ASP) Toon locatie
aanwezigen (Paul) Rübig, (Martin) Häusling, J. (Jan) Huitema, (Eva) Kaili e.a.
organisatie Evaluatie van wetenschappelijke en technische opties (STOA)

The 2019 STOA/ESMH - ERC conference will bring policy-makers and European Research Council funded grantees together with the aim to support evidence-based, informed policy making and to underline how Europe’s future can be shaped by basic research on topics ranging from smart agriculture and food, to CRISPR as well as migration and demography.


8.30 - 9.00 Welcome coffee/tea

9.00 - 9.35 Opening and welcome

  • · 
    Eva Kaili, MEP & STOA Chair
  • · 
    Jean Eric Paquet, Director General for Research and Innovation (tbc)
  • · 
    Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, ERC President
  • · 
    Professor Alina Badescu, ERC grantee, Polytechnic University of Bucharest

9.35 - 10.20 Panel session on smart agriculture/food

  • · 
    Moderator: Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, ERC President
  • · 
    MEPs: Martin Häusling (Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance) and Jan Huitema (Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe)
  • · 
    ERC grantees: Prof. Boaz Pokroy, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Israel and Dr. Ana Isabel Caño Delgado, Centre for Research in Agricultural Genomics, Spain

10.20 - 11.05 Panel session on migration/demography

  • · 
    Moderator: Angela Liberatore, Head of Unit for Social Sciences and Humanities, ERC-Executive Agency
  • · 
    MEP: Eva Kaili, STOA Chair
  • · 
    ERC grantees: Prof. Steven Vertovec, Max-Planck-Institute, Germany and Dr. Vanessa Grotti, European University Institute, Italy

11.05 - 11.50 Panel session on CRISPR

  • · 
    Moderator: Margaret Buckingham, ERC Scientific Council Member
  • · 
    MEPs: Paul Rübig, MEP & STOA 1st Vice-Chair
  • · 
    ERC grantees: Prof. Holger Puchta, Karlsruher Institute for Technology, Germany and Dr. Laura Cancedda, Fondaziones Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy

12:00 Closing remarks

  • · 
    Eva Kaili, STOA Chair

Location: European Parliament Brussels, - EPRS Library, reading room Altiero Spinelli (ASP) Building 5th Floor

Last updated: 04-02-2019


Meer over...

Terug naar boven