r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij M Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek

The European Council establishes the composition of the European Parliament

Met dank overgenomen van Europese Raad, gepubliceerd op vrijdag 29 juni 2018.

The European Council today adopted a decision on the composition of the European Parliament. The decision sets out the number of representatives in each member state to be elected to the European Parliament for the 2019-2024 parliamentary term.

The decision reduces and redistributes European Parliament seats following the decision by the United Kingdom to exit the European Union. The new composition will reduce the size of the European Parliament from 751 to 705 Members (MEP's).

Of the 73 seats vacated by Brexit, 27 will be re-allocated to better reflect the principle of degressive proportionality.

The 27 seats will be distributed to France (+5), Spain (+5), Italy (+3), Netherlands (+3), Ireland (+2), Sweden (+1), Austria (+1), Denmark (+1), Finland (+1), Slovakia (+1), Croatia (+1), Estonia (+1), Poland (+1) and Romania (+1). No member state will lose any seats.


According to the Treaty on European Union the number of Members of the European Parliament cannot exceed seven hundred and fifty (750), plus the President (+1). It provides for representation to be degressively proportional, with a minimum threshold of six (6) members per member state, and with no member state allocated more than ninety-six (96) seats.

Today's decision will enable member states to enact the necessary domestic measures for organising the elections to the European Parliament for the 2019-2024 parliamentary term.

Numbers of Members per member state 2019-2024

Belgium 21

Bulgaria 17

Czech Republic 21

Denmark 14

Germany 96

Estonia 7

Ireland 13

Greece 21

Spain 59

France 79

Croatia 12

Italy 76

Cyprus 6

Latvia 8

Lithuania 11

Luxembourg 6

Hungary 21

Malta 6

Netherlands 29

Austria 19

Poland 52

Portugal 21

Romania 33

Slovenia 8

Slovakia 14

Finland 14

Sweden 21


Visit the meeting page Download as pdf

Institutional affairs

Terug naar boven