r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij P P M G W Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo Afstudeer hoed man met tas twitter

Opening - Minute’s silence for victims of terrorism and natural disasters

Met dank overgenomen van Europees Parlement (EP) , gepubliceerd op maandag 11 september 2017, 18:01.

EP President Antonio Tajani commemorated those who died in recent terrorist attacks and natural disasters, at the opening of the session in Strasbourg.

Condemning acts of inhuman violence and expressing solidarity with the victims and their families in Barcelona, Cambrils and Turku, the Parliament also stands with non-European countries which have suffered through terrorist attacks, said European Parliament President Antonio Tajani. “Once again we are obliged to recall innocent victims of the murderous fury of terrorism,” he said.

On the anniversary of the attack on the Twin Towers, “each attack boosts our determination to fight terrorism and our hope in a better world. We do not intend to bow our heads in the face of terrorism”, the President noted.

The victims of natural disasters throughout Europe, America and the Caribbean were also commemorated.

Following this, the plenary held a minute of silence in memory of the victims of the terrorist attacks and recent natural disasters.

Watch the video of the opening

Incoming MEPs

Baroness Nosheena Mobarik (ECR, UK) as of 8 September

Jonathan Bullock (EFDD, UK) as of 1 August

Dennis Radtke (EPP, DE) as of 24 July

France Jamet (ENF, FR) as of 21 July

Wajid Khan (S&D, UK) as of 29 June

Outgoing MEPs

Ildikó Gáll-Pelcz (EPP, HU) as of 31 August

Petr Mach (EFDD, CZ) as of 31 August

Roger Helmer (EFDD, UK) as of 31 July

Louis Aliot (ENF, FR) as of 20 July

Mariya Gabriel (EPP, BG) as of 6 July

Herbert Reul (EPP, DE) as of 6 July

Agenda changes

No changes to the agenda.

Requests by committees to start negotiations with Council and Commission

Decisions by several committees to enter into inter-institutional negotiations (Rule 69c) are published on the plenary website.

If no request for a vote in Parliament on the decision to enter into negotiations is made until Tuesday 24.00, the committees may start negotiations.


Terug naar boven