r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek uitroepteken

European Economic Area Council, 16/05/2017 - Main results

Met dank overgenomen van Raad van de Europese Unie (Raad), gepubliceerd op woensdag 17 mei 2017, 1:14.
EU Commissioner for Neighbourhood Policy
Bron: © European Union, 2016

Meeting documents

Provisional agenda

Progress Report by the EEA Joint Committee

Draft minutes of the 46th EEA Council

The 47th meeting of the European Economic Area (EEA)Council was held in Brussels, under the Presidency of Mr Louis Grech, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for EU Affairs of Malta. The EEA EFTA side was led by Mr Frank Bakke-Jensen, Minister for EEA and EU Affairs of Norway. He was accompanied by Ms Aurelia Frick, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Liechtenstein, and Mr Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Iceland.

The EEA Council assessed the overall functioning of the EEA agreement. In particular, it examined the cooperation between the EU and the EEA EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) within the framework of the EEA agreement.

The EEA Council recognised that the close partnership between the EU and the EEA EFTA States was the best guarantee for long-term shared prosperity and stability. It also acknowledged the key role played by the EEA agreement for more than 20 years in advancing economic integration between the EU and the EEA EFTA States.

The EEA Council acknowledged the positive contributions made by the EEA EFTA States to the decision-shaping process of EEA-relevant EU legislation and programmes through their participation in the relevant committees, expert groups, studies and agencies, as well as through the submission of EEA EFTA comments.

The EEA Council also held a debate on joint fulfilment of the Paris Agreement and related GHG emissions reductions targets for 2030.

EEA Council page on the EFTA website

Terug naar boven