r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek

Charlemagne prize 2015 to be awarded to EP President Martin Schulz on Thursday

Met dank overgenomen van Europees Parlement (EP), gepubliceerd op woensdag 13 mei 2015, 14:14.

EP President Martin Schulz will be awarded the 57th International Charlemagne Prize at a ceremony on Thursday 14 May in Aachen. The prize goes to Mr Schulz for his work to promote democracy, not least by making the European Parliament more visible, audible and understandable, and for his role in the "Spitzenkandidaten" process ahead of the 2014 European elections.

The Prize board underlines in an explanatory statement that Mr Schulz made it clear from the very beginning of his mandate that as President he would "fight for the respect of the parliament by the executives, if and when the rights of the citizens were endangered”, and would challenge anyone who thought that "more Europe could be achieved with less parliamentarianism". The board also cites Mr Schulz’s role in promoting the “Spitzenkandidaten” process in the run-up to the 2014 European elections.

Joachim Gauck, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, François Hollande, President of the French Republic and Abdullah II ibn al-Hussein, King of Jordan, will deliver the Laudatio for President Schulz.

Among more than 800 invited guests, the following have confirmed their participation: Zoran Milanović, Minister President of Croatia, Sauli Niinistö, President of Finland, Werner Faymann, Chancellor of Austria, Laimdota Straujuma, Prime Minister of Latvia, Dalia Grybauskaitė, President of Lithuania and Charlemagne Prize laureate, Petro Poroshenko, President of Ukraine, King Felipe and Queen Letizia of Spain, Donald Tusk, President of the European Council, Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission, Werner Hoyer, President of the European Investment Bank, Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Eurogroup, Sigmar Gabriel, Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy and Vice-Chancellor of Germany, Jean-Claude Trichet , former President of the European Central Bank, Javier Solana, former High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and Charlemagne Prize laureate and Queen Rania of Jordan.

The ceremony will take place in Aachen on 14 May from 11.00 to 13.00 and will be webstreamed live, here.

Video, audio and photo coverage of the event will be available shortly after, here.

REF. : 20150513IPR55402


Terug naar boven