r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij P P M G W Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo man met tas twitter boek

Tuesday 10 June: The Commission, the Council and the Parliament bring together religious leaders to exchange ideas on the future of the European Union, Brussel

Berlaymontgebouw in Brussel
© Kevin Bergenhenegouwen
datum 10 juni 2014
plaats Brussel, België
locatie Berlaymont (BERL) Toon locatie
zaal pers ruimte
aanwezigen M. (Martin) Schulz, H.A. (Herman) Van Rompuy e.a.
organisatie Europese Commissie (EC)

The news:

The tenth edition of the annual high-level meeting of religious leaders will take place on Tuesday 10 June at the Commission's headquarters in Brussels, under the motto 'The future of the European Union'. Participants will exchange views on, amongst others, current societal developments in and outside the EU, on Europe's role in the world and in the immediate neighbourhood, and on the part religions can play in this context. The meeting will be hosted by José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, and co-chaired by Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, and László Surján, Vice-President of the European Parliament, representing EP President Martin Schulz. The participants will observe a minute's silence in respect of the victims of the tragic attack in the Jewish museum in Brussels on 24 May and will adopt a joint declaration regarding Meriam Ibrahim, a Sudanese Christian sentenced to death for apostasy.

The following representatives from Christian, Muslim, Jewish, Hindu, Sikh and Mormon communities will be present:

  • Mr Syed Ali ABBAS, Joint Secretary of Majlis e Ulama e Shi’a Europe

  • Professor Margaret S. ARCHER, President of the Pontifical Academy of Social Science

  • His Excellency Chaim BURSTEIN, Chief Rabbi of Lithuania

  • Imam Hassen CHALGHOUMI, President of the Conference of Imams of France

  • His Eminence Bishop DOROTHEOS II of Syros, Tinos, Andros, Kea, Melos and Mykonos

  • His Eminence Metropolitan EMMANUEL of France, Representative of the Ecumenical Patriarchate to the European Institutions

  • His Excellency Chief Rabbi Pinchas GOLDSCHMIDT, President of the Conference of European rabbis

  • His Excellency, Monseigneur Jean-Pierre GRALLET, Archevêque de Strasbourg

  • His Excellency Albert GUIGUI, Chief Rabbi of Brussels and Permanent Representative at the Conference of European Rabbis

  • The Right Reverend Christopher HILL, President of the Conference of European Churches (CEC)

  • His Excellency Kari MÄKINEN, Archbishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland

  • His Eminence Cardinal Reinhard MARX, Archbishop of Freising and Munich

  • His Excellency Bhai Sahib MOHINDER SINGH, Chairman of the Guru Nanak Nishkam Sewak Jatha Birmingham

  • Imam Yahya PALLAVICINI, Vice-President of the "Comunità religiosa Islamica" in Italy

  • His Grace Bishop PORFYRIOS of Neapolis, Director of the Representation of the Church of Cyprus to the European Institution

  • His Excellency Dr Nikolaus SCHNEIDER, Chair of the Council of the Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD)

  • Ms Bharti TAILOR, President of the Hindu Forum of Europe and Secretary General of the Hindu Forum of Britain

  • Elder José A. TEIXEIRA, European President of the Church of the Latter Day Saints

  • Her Excellency Bishop Rosemarie WENNER, Presiding Bishop of the United Methodist Church in Germany

The background:

The open, transparent and regular dialogue between the European Commission and churches, religious communities, as well as philosophical and non-confessional organisations, is enshrined into primary law by the Lisbon Treaty (Art 17 TFEU). Beyond regular seminars with the different interlocutors, there is one annual high-level meeting with religious leaders and one with philosophical and non-confessional representatives. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the high-level meeting with religious leaders.

The event:

The High-level Religious Leaders meeting will take place in the Berlaymont building on Tuesday 11 June 2014 from 10h00 to 14h00. A press release and the list of participating religious leaders will be published on the day. A press conference of the two Presidents and Vice President László Surján together with the religious leaders will be held in the European Commission's press room at 12h00.

  • 1. 

    Available on EbS

The sources:

Information on the European Commission's dialogue with churches, religious communities and philosophical and non-confessional organisations:


Website of José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission:


The contacts:

Pia Ahrenkilde Hansen +32 2 295 30 70 pia.ahrenkilde-hansen@ec.europa.eu

Jens Mester +32 2 296 39 73 jens.mester@ec.europa.eu

Dirk Volckaerts +32 2 299 39 44 dirk.volckaerts@ec.europa.eu


Europese Commissie (EC)

Deze instelling van de Europese Unie kan worden beschouwd als het 'dagelijks bestuur' van de EU. De leden van de Europese Commissie worden 'eurocommissarissen' genoemd. Elke eurocommissaris is verantwoordelijk voor één of meerdere beleidsgebieden. Momenteel zijn er 28 eurocommissarissen, voor elke lidstaat één. Samen vormen zij het college van eurocommissarissen. De eurocommissarissen moeten het belang van de Europese Unie als geheel behartigen, niet dat van hun eigen land.

De Europese Commissie mag als enige EU-instelling wetsvoorstellen indienen; zij heeft het zogenaamde recht van initatief. Daarnaast controleert de Commissie of de Europese wetgeving juist wordt toegepast in de lidstaten, onderhandelt zij in internationale organisaties als de Wereldhandelsorganisatie (WTO) over de handel van de Unie met het 'buitenland' en is zij verantwoordelijk voor het beheer van de Europese begroting van ongeveer 140 miljard euro per jaar.


Meer over...

Terug naar boven