r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij P P M G W Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo Afstudeer hoed man met tas twitter

Commission presents its 2012 Country-Specific Recommendations and conclusions of in-depth reviews, Brussel

Brussel, het Atomium
datum 30 mei 2013
plaats Brussel, Aš, België, Tsjechië
organisatie Europese Commissie (EC)

The news:

On 30 May, the European Commission will adopt its second annual set of policy recommendations to the 27 Member States, and to the euro area as a whole. The recommendations are based on a detailed assessment of the economic, employment and budgetary situation and policies in each country. Where required, the Commission will spell out further budgetary steps, structural reforms and growth-enhancing measures which Member States should adopt over the following 12 months. The recommendations are to be endorsed by the European Council on 28-29 June and formally adopted by the Council in July.

At the same time, the Commission will present the results of the in-depth reviews of 12 Member States which it has been carrying out in the context of the Macroeconomic Imbalances Procedure.

The background:

The presentation of the Country-Specific Recommendations is a key moment in the 'European Semester' of economic policy coordination., Taking the EU's growth strategy (called Europe 2020) as a starting point, the Commission sets out every year Europe's economic policy priorities (in the so-called "Annual Growth Survey"). The priorities presented in the 2012 Annual Growth Survey, adopted on 23 November 2011, were endorsed by the European Council on 1 March 2012. On that basis, the Member States submitted in April their medium-term budgetary plans (called Stability Programmes for euro area countries, Convergence Programmes for other Member States) and the structural reform measures planned for the following 12 months (National Reform Programmes). The Country-Specific Recommendations are the Commission's response to these.

The presentation of the results of the in-depth reviews of 12 Member States is the next step in the Macroeconomic Imbalances Procedure, following the Alert Mechanism report on 14 February. The Alert Mechanism Report concluded that the macroeconomic situation in Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Hungary, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK merited further investigation with a view to assessing the presence of specific imbalances. Where necessary, the Commission will also issue recommendations to take appropriate preventive or corrective action to address these.

The event:

The Commission will adopt 28 sets of proposed recommendations at its meeting on 30 May, as well as the results of 12 in-depth reviews and potential associated recommendations. The key messages will be presented at a press conference the same day.

IP and MEMO will be available on the day, along with the text of the Communication adopted by the Commission, the 28 sets of recommendations and 28 Commission staff working documents containing the detailed analysis for each Member State and for the euro area as a whole, plus the outcomes of the 12 in-depth reviews.

  • Available on EbS

The sources:

Europe 2020 website:


2011 country-specific recommendations and staff working documents:


2012 National Reform Programmes and Stability or Convergence Programmes:


2011 Alert Mechanism Report:


The contacts:

Olivier Bailly: +32 2 296 87 17 Olivier.Bailly@ec.europa.eu

Simon O'Connor: +32 2 296 73 59 Simon.O'Connor@ec.europa.eu

Amadeu Altafaj Tardio + 32 2 295 2658 amadeu.altafaj-tardio@ec.europa.eu

Vandna Kalia + 32 2 299 5824 vandna.kalia@ec.europa.eu

Audrey Augier + 32 2 297 1607 audrey.augier@ec.europa.eu




Europese Commissie (EC)

Deze instelling van de Europese Unie kan worden beschouwd als het 'dagelijks bestuur' van de EU. De leden van de Europese Commissie worden 'eurocommissarissen' genoemd. Elke eurocommissaris is verantwoordelijk voor één of meerdere beleidsgebieden. Momenteel zijn er 28 eurocommissarissen, voor elke lidstaat één. Samen vormen zij het college van eurocommissarissen. De eurocommissarissen moeten het belang van de Europese Unie als geheel behartigen, niet dat van hun eigen land.

De Europese Commissie mag als enige EU-instelling wetsvoorstellen indienen; zij heeft het zogenaamde recht van initatief. Daarnaast controleert de Commissie of de Europese wetgeving juist wordt toegepast in de lidstaten, onderhandelt zij in internationale organisaties als de Wereldhandelsorganisatie (WTO) over de handel van de Unie met het 'buitenland' en is zij verantwoordelijk voor het beheer van de Europese begroting van ongeveer 140 miljard euro per jaar.


Meer over...


Terug naar boven