r google-plus facebook twitter linkedin2 nujij P P M G W Monitor Nieuwsbrief pdclogo Afstudeer hoed man met tas twitter

Adoption of the 2012 European Neighbourhood Policy Package, Brussel

Brussel, het Atomium
datum 15 mei 2013
plaats Brussel, Eu, België, Frankrijk
aanwezigen S. (Štefan) Füle, C.M. (Catherine) Ashton e.a.
organisatie Europese Commissie (EC)

On 15 May the 2012 European Neighbourhood Policy Package will be adopted. This year's Package consists of a Joint Communication of the Commission and the High Representative and twelve Country Progress Reports assessing the implementation of the ENP in 2011 in the twelve neighbouring countries with which an ENP Action Plan or an equivalent document has been agreed; two regional progress reports reviewing the progress made in 2011 in the implementation of the Eastern Partnership and the Partnership for Democracy and Shared Prosperity; and a Statistical Annex.





The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) was developed in 2004, with the objective of avoiding the emergence of new dividing lines between the enlarged EU and its neighbours, aiming instead to increase the prosperity, stability and security of all.

In May 2011 the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the European Commission put forward a new policy response to a changing EU neighbourhood based on "more for more", mutual accountability and a shared commitment to the universal values of human rights, democracy and the rule of law and involving a much higher level of differentiation. In this way the EU responded to the Arab Spring and sent a clear message of solidarity and support to the peoples of the Southern Mediterranean It also responded to EU Eastern Neighbours’ efforts towards closer political association and deeper economic integration. A year on, the High Representative and the Commission will present an assessment of the first year of implementation of the new approach.

The ENP framework is proposed to 16 of the EU's closest neighbours – Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Morocco, Occupied Palestinian Territory, Syria, Tunisia and Ukraine.



Press Conference by High Representative/Vice President Catherine Ashton and Commissioner Stefan Füle (time to be confirmed).

  • Available on EbS

1 IP, 16 MEMOS and the Joint Communication to the European Parliament and Council will be available on the day.



For information ENP please see:


The document of the Communication will be made available on:


European External Action Service website:


Commissioner Štefan Füle's website:


  • I-065430 European Neighbourhood Policy: South 2010
  • I-065429 European Neighbourhood Policy: East 2010



Peter Stano +32 2 295 74 84 Peter.Stano@ec.europa.eu

Michael Mann +32 2 299 97 80 Michael.Mann@ec.europa.eu

Maja Kocijancic +32 2 298 65 70 Maja.Kocijancic@ec.europa.eu

Anca Paduraru +32 229 66430 Anca.Paduraru@ec.europa.eu

Sebastien Brabant +32 229 86433 Sebastien.Brabant@ec.europa.eu


Europese Commissie (EC)

Deze instelling van de Europese Unie kan worden beschouwd als het 'dagelijks bestuur' van de EU. De leden van de Europese Commissie worden 'eurocommissarissen' genoemd. Elke eurocommissaris is verantwoordelijk voor één of meerdere beleidsgebieden. Momenteel zijn er 28 eurocommissarissen, voor elke lidstaat één. Samen vormen zij het college van eurocommissarissen. De eurocommissarissen moeten het belang van de Europese Unie als geheel behartigen, niet dat van hun eigen land.

De Europese Commissie mag als enige EU-instelling wetsvoorstellen indienen. Daarnaast controleert de Commissie of de Europese wetgeving juist wordt toegepast in de lidstaten. Bij overtredingen kan de Commissie een lidstaat dwingen zich aan Europese regelgeving te houden, door een procedure te starten bij het Europese Hof van Justitie.


Meer over...


Terug naar boven